The device settings and password are all saved to the cloud automatically by the app. If your phone is not connected to the internet while you are claiming the devices, the settings cannot be saved. If you log out of the app or clear the phone data before reconnecting to the internet, then all the settings can be lost. If this happens, it is necessary to do a hard reset of each device, then re-claim them with your app when connected to the internet.
The app will warn you, and prevent you from logging out if the settings are not yet saved to the server, so this issue should not occur.